029

Stop. Listen. Think. Collaborate. Innovate. Create.

 

Rinse. Repeat.

 

That’s all I want to do for a career. To have a team that surrounds me and we can identify problems that exist and work together for process improvement and innovation to create a better product and a better world.

 

The question is: What do I have to do to land that kind of a job? What credentials do I need? A certain educational degree? A specific certification or professional license? A technical skill?

 

I need something that is always grabbing my attention. Asking me to do the same process repeatedly every week or month gets old after a while. I’m not saying it’s beneath me or bad to have that kind of work. I know it takes repetition to learn a new skill, and I’m more than happy to learn! What I am saying is that some people only want to do repetitive work because then they know everything that is coming down to them and they have no surprises. A routine is all they want to do. All the power to them, and I’m more than happy to help set them up to do that kind of work.

 

But not me. I want to innovate. I want to create. I want to have the influence and respect so that when I say “We should do this for process improvement,” others will buy in to the idea. I want to have the ability so that when I say “We need these resources or we need to create a team and hire new FTEs for this specific role / purpose”, that I am supported because the stakeholders believe in me that I will deliver a high quality product for them.

 

Innovation, creation, passion. That’s what I’m looking for. How do I land THAT kind of a job?

 

If you have feedback, I’d love to hear from you!

 

~R

Leave a Reply

