028

How was my day?

 

I’ve got Eminem blaring on repeat, I’m wishing I had a kickboxing coach pushing me right now, and I’m rapping  while jabbing at the air. My blood is boiling, I feel like I could go running around the island all night, I feel like I could set a new personal best on the bench press. I’m hot, I’m worked up, I’m not sure I’ve ever been more driven to prove the haters wrong.

 

Tonight is an Eminem kind of night.

 

Today will define me. Today will lead me to be stronger. Today will lead me to better places. Today will show me that even in the toughest times, Tījī basara’ah. Today creates in me the stone cold stare straight in the eyes and not back down look that will never be forgotten. Today is when haters can make like bees with no stingers and drop dead. Because today, it’s the last. The last day of being the last. Ever. Period. Ever.

 

Because tonight, it’s still an Eminem kind of night.

 

Tonight, is the night where I come to peace with all that is holding me back. Tonight IS the night when stand and I finally say enough is enough. Tonight IS THE night where I stop being taken for granted. Tonight IS THE NIGHT where I stop doing nothing when I know I am right and have done nothing wrong. Tonight is the night when I say no more drama from now on. Tonight is the night where I stop being a mop pushed around in the slush. Tonight is the night when I bury what is a shell of my old self and I begin the transformation.

 

Because tonight is most certainly and will continue to be an Eminem kind of night.

 

Tomorrow, I start a new path. Tomorrow I prove my worth. Tomorrow I overcome. Because TOMORROW is no longer about me but it is about us. Tomorrow we show that strength in numbers unites against any one and can create a movement more powerful than any could imagine. Tomorrow we show that intellect is not something that is groomed or taken, it is innate. Tomorrow we show that masses will shout tījī tījī basara’ah basara’ah and one of our own will emerge. Tomorrow, we show our grit and determination for we will no longer be silent.

 

Why?

 

Because TONIGHT we all pick up our microphones and join Eminem in saying that tomorrow:

 

We’re raising the bar
We’d shoot for the moon but too busy gazing at stars
We feel amazing and We’re…

We’re not afraid (We’re not afraid)
To take a stand (to take a stand)
Everybody (everybody)
Come take our hands (come take our hands)
We’ll walk this road together, through the storm
Whatever weather, cold or warm
Just letting you know that you’re not alone
Holler if you feel like you’ve been down the same road (same road)

 

~R

 

Leave a Reply

