Day 10 of #10DBC #FreedomPlan: Celebrating Freedom!

blog-challenge-badge-12

I’m participating in the #10DBC #FreedomPlan challenge. This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 10.

DAY 10: Celebrating Freedom

 

This is it!! Day 10 of Natalie‘s #10DBC #FreedomPlan challenge has arrived! Now don’t get me wrong here: I’m not excited because it is ending, but more excited because I made it! If you’ve read my 001 Blog Post, you’ll remember that for years my friends have been asking me to start blogging and capturing my adventures. I never thought I could do it, but these past 10 days helped push me over the edge and enlighten me in key areas of me life.

 

Today Natalie asked what our favorite challenge was and why. The truth is Natalie, I can’t choose just one, I have to choose Days 1-5. That’s right, I have to choose 5 of them!

Day 1: Challenges vs. Focus

Day 2: What’s my Why?

Day 3: My Perfect Day

Day 4: My SuperPowers

Day 5: Setting Myself Up For Success

 

Why?

 

I’ve been pushing so long that I never had a chance to stop, breathe, and truly ponder the questions that you presented. I cannot emphasize how badly I wish someone had put me through this process at the start of my Senior Year of High School to help me choose which college I wanted to attend, or again at the beginning and end of every single year of college to help me measure whether or not my major was what I really wanted to be doing with my life, or again before I chose my grad school and program, and again before I chose my first job. I know looking back that I can say without doubt that I made what I believed to be the best decisions at the time based upon the information I had. They say that hindsight is 20/20, but looking back now, there are so many different decisions that I wish I had made. And if someone had put me through this challenge at every single point to re-evaluate my progress, goals, and current situation before I made these life-changing decisions, I do not think I would have made most (if not all) of the same calls.

 

These 10 days were a tremendous refocusing that I desperately needed. Day 1 made me sit down and actually describe / express in vivid detail the problems I am currently facing. While I may consciously know what the problems are, the core task of actually identifying them was refreshing. It kickstarted my focus.

 

Days 2 & 3 made me identify not only what I want my perfect life to be, but also Why Do I Do What I Do? What Drives me? What is the spark that makes my adrenaline rush? I can see now how much I have changed in the last 1 year ! My priorities have changed, my desires have shifted, my talents have expanded, and I have learned so much of what not to do. As I sit here and write this post, I’m actually shell-shocked and am finding myself pausing and reflecting at this point in time. With all the work I have done, it seems as though I have lived several years just in this one year There are pros and cons to this, but I’m continuing to leverage both the pros and the cons to push me to better opportunities!

 

Days 4 and 5 were the icing on the cake for me. This is where I put the knowledge from Days 1-3 together and through reinforcing what my strengths are, I helped myself gain a clearer picture of what it is that I want and what I need to do to get there.

 

In total, I had both a refocusing but also a complete mind-shift in how I view my current situation and where I want to end up. I am enormously grateful to Natalie for helping me find my way! I plan to use the questions raised in Days 1-5 as tools to reassess and problem solve as I move forward on my journey.

 

So where do I go from here? This blog will not die simply because the challenge is over. This is simply the beginning.

 

I leave you with a few scenes from one of my favorite movies Finding Forrester. If you haven’t seen Finding Forrester and you love writing, do yourself a favor and watch it as soon as you can!

 

Until tomorrow.

 

~R

 

Have feedback on my post? Feel free to comment below! Be sure to follow along with us as we continue to explore Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 10.

Be sure to check out the hashtags #10DBC #freedomplan on Social Media to see what others are writing about

Leave a Reply

