Day 6 of #10DBC #FreedomPlan: Finding Your Tribe

blog-challenge-badge-12

I’m participating in the #10DBC #FreedomPlan challenge. This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6.

DAY 6: Finding My Tribe

Today Natalie talked to us about the importance of finding mentors who can help guide you on your journey. She then challenges us to pick 1-2 individuals we wish we could be mentored by and prepare questions for them.

 

I can’t begin to stress how important this is! When I was in grad school, I had a pretty bad breakup that shook me to my core. At the same time, I was struggling to decide if I had made the correct career path decision. Everything started to crumble at once. I questioned who I was as a person, whether I had any talents, if I was even an upstanding person, and what (if any) value I brought to the world around me. I hit ROCK BOTTOM. But, it was at that point in my life when I learned who really supported me, who would stand up for me and tell others to stop attacking me based upon false rumors that were being spread about me, and more importantly, who wasn’t afraid to ask me the challenging questions I needed to answer in order to confront and defeat the demons that were haunting me. These were my true friends, these were the individuals who believed in me and were willing to drag me out of the hole I had landed in. That’s when I knew I had found MY tribe! I am and will continue to be grateful for these individuals who keep pushing me to achieve better things!

 

But now, I am looking for more mentors. I need individuals who have been there, those who can help me take my skills, thinking, and attitude to the next level to make me the highly sought after candidate and top notch employee that I want to be! I need my Mr. Miyagi! The best way to describe my current situation? I feel like Chris Gardner in this scene from The Pursuit of Happyness, when he’s doing everything he knows how to do in order to make ends meet, and he just needs that one “Ah HA!!” moment from someone to help put him on the path he should go.

 
If you’ve read through my blogs so far, you may have picked up that I’m want to become a Vice President and eventually a C-Suite Executive. My skills? Project management, strategic planning, process improvement, and a strong desire to be mentored, trained, and given the tools and resources needed to learn as much as I can as fast as I can! What industry(ies) do I relate to the most / want to work in? Entertainment, Tech, Travel, or Healthcare. (P.S. I love to perform, be on stage, and in the spotlight). Where do I want to eventually live? California / the Greater Los Angeles area.

 

Right now, I am reading through “Creativity, Inc” by Ed Catmull. If you haven’t read it, do yourself a favor and pick up a copy. It is PHENOMENAL! Ed has piqued my creative mind so many times that I am finding it difficult to complete the book in a quick time frame as I continue to go off on mental tangents trying to figure out how I can incorporate these ideas into my own career. Ed inspires me because he knows the value of a collaborative environment. Often times I read books and hear Presidents of companies say phrases like “I told my company we were implementing changes to our workflow.” But Ed is the down-to earth and common sense guru who says “Hey, we’ve got a problem here. Let’s get the braintrust together and collaborate to see what we can do to resolve the issue.” Ed also isn’t afraid to fail. Time and time again, Pixar appeared to have their back up against the wall, but yet that didn’t stop the company from continuing to innovate instead of relying solely upon repeating what they had done in the past to be successful. Ed even quotes Andrew Stanton’s belief that “we will all be happier and more productive if we hurry up and fail… (be) decisive, then forgive yourself if your initial decision proves misguided”. I love this concept of embracing failure because that is the only time we know we have actually LEARNED something. Just think of what the world would look like if everything worked exactly the way we wanted it to the very first time we tried it. Does it seem realistic? I bet not. (More on this concept of embracing failure in a future blog post!)

 

If I had the opportunity to ask Ed two questions, this is what I would ask him:

  1. Let’s say your best project manager (or coordinator / leader) for one of your most vital production teams just announces they are leaving Pixar. What does your ideal candidate to replace this person look like?
  2. A candidate sees your job posting for this recent vacancy. They believe they can perform and meet all the requirements of the job description, and they would LOVE to work for Pixar. But, they currently work in a different industry, have no years of experience in your field, and are unsure if Pixar would even consider their application. What do you tell that person to do in order for them to become your #1 choice for the open position?

 
I’ll admit it right now: I’d love to work for Pixar and/or Disney! Am I as competitive of an applicant as someone who has integrated into those companies by completed internships, worked entry level jobs, or taken courses or workshops from them? Perhaps not. BUT that doesn’t mean I shouldn’t reach out and push myself to reach that level of competency. I will continue to do whatever I can so that if an opportunity presents itself, I have the ability to pursue it!

 
In closing, I challenge you to set your sights high! Identify the dream career that you want, and start asking people who work in it to be your mentor. Ask them what the ideal candidate is for your dream position, and then start doing whatever you need to do in order to meet those criteria. No one said it would be easy. It will take a LOT of hard work and dedication, but keep the end goal in mind and use it as your motivation!

 
Finally, the pic above is part of my tribe and myself as we had a blast attending Coldplay at the Rose Bowl back on 8/20/16. So glad to see them again, and to those of you who couldn’t make it or didn’t attend, you missed out and we are planning another get together this December!! Be there or you’ll receive Snowflake status!!

 

~R

 

Have feedback on my post? Feel free to comment below! Be sure to follow along with us as we continue to explore Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6.

Be sure to check out the hashtags #10DBC #freedomplan on Social Media to see what others are writing about!

Leave a Reply

