Day 3 of #10DBC #FreedomPlan: My Perfect Day

blog-challenge-badge-12

I’m participating in the #10DBC #FreedomPlan challenge. This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 3.

DAY 3: My Perfect Day

Natalie kicks off Day 3 of the #10DBC by challenging us to envision what our perfect day is 3 years from now. This is a terrific exercise that I’ve been taught since I was 4 years old when I began my classical training on the violin. Just like Olympians, Athletes, Actors, and Musicians will tell you, the real battles in life are not the battles that take place in the pool, out on the field / court, or on stage. The real battles in life actually take place in your mind as you prepare for those events, long before you ever step out into the spotlight. The more that you can envision yourself in a specific moment and run through every single scenario that you can in your mind and how you will react to it, the less likely you will be surprised when something doesn’t go according to the script. Envision both the moments that you could fail, but more importantly the moments where you make the correct choice to avoid failure and instead find yourself dominating your opponents and claiming victory.

So how do I envision my Perfect Day? I’ll tell you, but there’s a slight caveat: I’ll be describing my Perfect Work Day. Why? I’ll tell you later on in this post.

05:00

My alarm goes off at 5am. I awake in my beautiful 4 bedroom home in Los Angeles, CA. I roll over to smile and say “Good Morning” to my incredible wife. We both spend a few minutes looking forward to our 3 week trip to Australia and New Zealand starting this upcoming weekend, and then we spend a few minutes in meditation. By 5:20 I’m jumping into my Endless Swimming Pool for my morning workout. Today I’m swimming 1 mile. At 5:55, I have completed my swim and spend 5 minutes stretching out in my cool down phase.

06:00

I’m in our stylish kitchen cooking a hearty breakfast that includes my Post-Workout smoothie, potatoes, eggs, and toast. Better yet, I’m enjoying breakfast with my wife as we review the schedule for the movie premiere we’re attending tonight at the Chinese Theater. By 6:30 I’m in the shower, 6:40 I’m getting ready for work, and by 6:55, I’m kissing my wife goodbye as we both walk out the door on the way to our respective jobs.

7:00

I’m in my sleek car headed to work. The leather interior is still sparkling from the detailing I recently did. I’m listening to my current Kindle audiobook, and thanks to Waze, I’m already re-routed around the crash on the 10. I’m excited to get to work! I finally landed my dream job as a Vice President and am making a sizeable 6 Figure salary. I’m also on track to become a future C-Suite Executive within the next 5 years. My career is booming! Also today, we’re having the big status update meetings where we’re reviewing the progress made on our latest project. I’m prepared and everything is in order. I arrive at work about 7:50, park, and take the elevator up to my office.

8:00

I put the last minute touches on the presentation for today’s meeting, before heading to the main conference room at 8:30. Our company is high tech, and many of our associates work remotely (which is awesome as I’ll be able to log some hours while sitting at the resort over the next few weeks). The conference room feels like Mission Control: Many monitors for the remote attendees to tune in, as well as additional displays for various analysis and sub-group assessments. The executives walk into the room, smile, mention me by name, and ask me how my weekend went. Before we know it, the meeting is in full swing.

12:00

The morning has flown by, but it sure was a great one! While we do have a few items to address, we made a lot of progress on our project development. My team and I ordered Thai food to be delivered to our office that way we can continue working on the project and leave a bit earlier in the afternoon. Have I mentioned how awesome my team is? They’re not only brilliant, but they have a great balance between intense work sessions and having finding humor to keep the atmosphere light. We all have our specific area of expertise that we focus on, but our collaboration is phenomenal. We get along and work so well together!

 

And that’s where I’m going to pause for today to let your imagination fill in the blanks. Perhaps I’ll complete this in another blog post or in my future book.

But why did I choose to describe a work day? Because anyone can plan an incredible weekend or vacation (perhaps I’ll share some of mine sometime soon), but the moment they go back to work, they hate their life. As I mentioned in a previous post, I don’t want that!! I want every single day to be as positive and incredible as my Saturday and Sundays! It’s time to stop living for the weekends!

~R

Have feedback on my post? Feel free to comment below! Be sure to follow along with us as we continue to explore Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 3.

Be sure to check out the hashtags #10DBC #freedomplan on Social Media to see what others are writing about!

Leave a Reply

